Venturing into the Unknown — Chick Lit (1)

Hi, I’m Ashia, and when Carole asked me to contribute to the TRR blog, I didn’t know what to write! So, for the first two articles, I thought I’d share two posts I wrote on my blog about chick lit books. Here goes!


 

Well, not really unknown, per se. In years past, I’ve read Sophie Kinsella’s books, i.e. the first Shopaholic book, The Undomestic Goddess and Can You Keep A Secret? While they were funny, there was a subtle element of the farcical that I didn’t like. Perhaps there are women like Rebecca Bloom, who shop till they drop and always in debt and juggling their credit cards. Perhaps there are women like Emma who babbled out all her secrets in a near-death moment only to have her boss (and love interest) blurt them out on national TV (if I remember right), thus outing her. However, such scenes/situations made it hard for me to suspend my disbelief enough to be immersed in the story, and hence, I gave up the chick lit genre. (Too bad; I could’ve bonded with my SIL over those books, because she loves them.)

LoveThen, early this year, I discovered Victoria Van Tiem’s Love Like the Movies. I love it! It’s got romance and comedy that wasn’t farcical, a hot, hunky, so sweet hero and gutsy heroine, and I devoured the book in 2 days. I couldn’t get enough of it and I wished it didn’t have to end. Needless to say, I’m waiting for more from this author and I hope she delivers on her next book! Anyway, here’s the blurb and I dare you not to be intrigued:

In this irresistible romantic romp, movie fanatic Kensington Shaw is thrown into love—Hollywood-style—when her gorgeous ex presents a series of big screen challenges to win back her heart.

What girl wouldn’t want to experience the Pretty Woman shopping scene? It’s number two on the list. Or, try the lift from Dirty Dancing? It’s number five. One list, ten romantic movie moments, and a handful of shenanigans later, Kenzi has to wonder…should she marry the man her family loves, or risk everything for a love like the movies?

Read my review here.

Thus my interest in chick lit was rekindled! Yay!

Now the next problem is: Where am I going to get my fix?

Fortunately, I was able to find some books that interest me, and I mean to get to them as time allows. Hope they don’t disappoint!

WardrobeThe Wardrobe Girl is a delightfully witty novel full of romance and family dramas, plus an irresistible behind-the-scenes peek at life on a soap.

‘It’s just string bikinis, thongs and boardies on Pretty Beach Rescue. You could do it drunk and standing on your head.’

After the humiliating end to her last relationship, this is just what TV costume designer, Tess Appleby, needs to hear. Sure, a wardrobe assistant on a soap is a step down from her gig at the BBC, but all Tess wants is an easy life . . .

prettyPretty in Ink

For years, Hers magazine has been a fixture on newsstands–relatable, reliable, and ever-so-slightly frumpy. But with sales slumping, Hers’ editor-in-chief soon finds a pink slip in her inbox. And her ruthless, blisteringly high-heeled replacement may not be finished cleaning house yet. . .

Leah Brenner suspects she won’t be on the payroll much longer either. A telecommuting, breast milk-pumping mom of three doesn’t mesh with her new boss Mimi’s vision of a sleeker, younger-skewing Hers. Not content with nabbing Leah’s office, Mimi’s protégée, Victoria, is itching to take over Leah’s duties too–and she’s not alone.

Never Google Heartbreak

When her fiancé Rob breaks off their engagement for the third time, Viv does what any girl would do – she Googles heartbreak.

googleConfronted by tales of misery, she decides to set-up her own self-help website for the broken-hearted. But as Viv passes through the three essential stages of grief (denial, vodka, disastrous haircut), she becomes determined that it’s not too late to try and get Rob back.

When things get out of hand after a drunken declaration of love at an extremely inappropriate moment, Viv’s scruffy, tequila-swilling best friend Max is there to pick up the pieces. Viv starts to realise that maybe the real thing has been under her nose all this time, and now – one ex and a massive error of judgement later – she has to face the question:

What’s the craziest thing you’ll do for love?

 

 

Originally posted at Life’s Guilty Pleasures

Leave a Reply

