Virtual Book Tour for The Earl’s Mistress by Liz Carlyle

Today, The Romance Reviews is a proud part of the Blog Tour for The Earl’s Mistress by Liz Carlyle, released by Avon Books on August 26th.  Keep reading for an excerpt and review, as well as links to purchase the book!

 


 

“Love at first sight, hmm?”

“That’s what Papa called it.”

“She looks beautiful, “ said the earl, still gazing at the painting, “—and so much like you it steals one’s breath.”

And in an instant, the awkwardness between them returned.  “I beg your pardon,” she said a little stiffly.  “I am out of the habit of entertaining.  May I offer you a glass of sherry?”

His gaze flicked toward her, sharp and knowing.  “May I not speak of your beauty, Isabella?”

“I wish you would not,” she said honestly.

He studied her for a long moment.  “You once said to me that beauty could be a curse,” he finally replied, “and that surely I, of all people, must know it.”

“I remember,” she said. 

“What did you mean by it?”

She lifted her gaze from her lap.  “I spoke wrongly, I suppose,” she said.  “It’s true of women.  Beauty for a woman is often a curse.  But for men like yourself who are both wealthy and beautiful—no, I suppose it does not matter.  It’s just icing on the cake of life.”

He shrugged, and looked away.  “I’ve wondered lately if that’s entirely true,” he mused.  “I wonder if it doesn’t worsen a man’s sense of entitlement, and make him more quick to assume what he wants will be his.  That he will, in the end, have his way.”  He stopped for a heartbeat.  “—But in the end, Isabella, I will not have you, will I?  I knew it the minute I laid eyes on you.  And I knew, too, that it would be better for both of us if I did not.  I should never have allowed Louisa to tempt me with that damned letter.”

She drew a deep breath.  “I cannot speak to your assumptions, my lord.  We must all wrestle with our own conscience.”

“I wonder if you ever have to do so.”  He turned to look at her again, his glittering blue gaze searching her face.  “Well, Isabella, I have asked my question, and you’ve answered.  I can ask nothing more from you.”  He set his wide, long-fingered hands over his thighs as if to rise.  “Shall I go, then?  Shall this be the end of it?”

Did she wish him to leave? 

Lord, she didn’t know.  She didn’t understand anything, least of all the feelings that stirred in her treacherous heart as she listened to him.  There was something about his deep, beautifully-modulated voice that melted over her like butter, warming her to the bone and weakening her resolve.

She dropped her head, her hands twisting in her lap.  “I do not know, my lord,” she admitted, her voice threading a little.  “I no longer know what I wish or think or even feel.  Since I returned from Greenwood, I . . . I haven’t understood anything.  Not myself, and certainly not you.”

 

Review:

In her newest release, (the tenth installment of her MacLachlan Family & Friend series,) Liz Carlyle has taken a decidedly modern trend in romances into her lushly detailed, darkly enthralling historic world. This book is quite noticeably different from Carlyle’s past work, and though her creative courage is admirable, this is not always a successful departure. There are times when the heroine’s lack of self-awareness and self-understanding can be frustrating, especially for readers who are may have more understanding than she of the hero’s particular proclivities, and the pace is slower, and much more deliberate than in previous works. However, at the heart of this story is a consistently interesting relationship and a very well-considered power struggle that incorporates the roles of men and women in society, class struggles, and the weight of morality have isolated these characters—and yet are the very reasons for bringing them together, as well. Best of all, both members of the lead couple are strong, determined and utterly driven (though admittedly by very different needs and desires). I very much appreciated seeing how much they grew, as individuals and as partners, and was impressed with how they were able to face a disapproving world together, without illusions or false optimism. Though it takes some time for their chemistry to really spark, the constant friction between them drove this plot and kept my attention consistently. Though uneven in places, this is a book that will hold a great deal of appeal, both for newcomers just learning about Liz’s Carlyle’s wit, insight, and decidedly decadent romances, and for fans, who will certainly be kept on their toes with this newest release.


About the Book

Women rarely refuse the wicked Earl of Hepplewood, whose sensual skills are the stuff of legend. But when his new governess answers his proposition with a slap to his face, then stalks out with references in hand, Hepplewood finds more than his face is left burning . . .

Isabella Aldridge has brains, bravado, and beauty-but the latter is no use to a servant. With orphaned sisters to feed, eviction nearing, and Hepplewood’s words ringing in her ears, Isabella realizes she must barter her most marketable asset . . .

But when fate unknowingly sends Isabella back into Hepplewood’s arms, the earl must make an impossible choice-draw Isabella down into his sensual darkness, or behave with honor for the first time in his life.

Purchase Now: Amazon | Barnes | Kobo | iBooks

2 thoughts on “Virtual Book Tour for The Earl’s Mistress by Liz Carlyle

  1. jdh2690 says:

    Sigh. I still can’t determine what’s going to happen next between Isabella and the Earl. I’m biting my nails until I have the book in hand and can read it all myself! Thanks for the post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

