#Romance #BookRecommendations from Ashia #TheRomanceReviews

Genre: Chick Lit, Romantic Comedy

It’s rare to read a book that touches you on so many levels. LOVE LIKE THE MOVIES is more than a rom-com; it’s about love, life and choices–the ones we make and the ones that are forced upon us. And courage, of course.

What makes this book fun to read is the author’s writing style–clear and smooth, with a dry wit. She also knows how to time things perfectly to get the most impact or laugh-out-loud laughter. Another fun factor was the movie reference, and while there are some I haven’t watched, I wasn’t lost at all, as the author gave a short, relevant summary when referencing it. The movies were a living, breathing thing, almost as good as another character.

Read my entire review.

Buy from Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository.

 

Genre: Erotic Contemporary Romance

Hot and sexy, funny and charming!

This book should have been titled “His Hotness, Caleb Anderson”. Boy, is he hot! And oozing with charm. I love when he goes dominant and commanding on Evie. Born to wealth, he doesn’t need to work, and…he doesn’t. That bothered me a bit. But we see his growth through the story, how Evie’s entrance into his life makes him yearn (finally) to have a purpose and explore his potential to be more.

This is a very sexy book, hot and sizzling, with great, unforgettable characters.

Read my entire review.

Buy from Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository.

 

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Romantic, refreshing and perfect. Though it’s a Valentine’s Day story, it’s really a good one to read during any season, especially if you need a little cheering up.

The story is written well, and the author manages to captivate and intrigue, despite there being not much dialogue. The letter that Reese wrote is wonderful and upbeat. Ms. Ackers is a master wordsmith, and we can see that in the content of these letters.

And the cover is just…perfect! I love it!

Though the story was short, I thought it was the right length for this story, ending on a note of possibilities and hope. One of the best short stories I’ve read! Highly recommended.

Read my entire review.

Buy from Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble.

 

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Ms. Robards’ mastery with words and superb storytelling make this a compelling read. She was able to make me suspend disbelief about a lot of things regarding the paranormal, not the least of which is a romance between a ghost and a human, and not only that, but she makes me want more!

And the ending, oh, THE ENDING!!! I thought the part where we saw Michael’s POV was poignant, bittersweet. (I read it again and again.) And the rest…was unexpected and there’s certainly the potential for more. I like all the possibilities it opens up… I want to read the next chapter in Charlie and Michael’s life RIGHT NOW.

Read my entire review.

Buy from Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository, Powell’s.

 

Genre: New Adult

Definitely worth reading!

The story was a light, fun read, yet it was compelling all the same. I couldn’t put my Kindle down! I thought the author captured the issues that young adults their age feel perfectly. I like the way the Stephanie and Ethan revealed their deepest secrets in stages, as it gave the characters and the reader time to digest the revelation and how it had affected them before we are hit with the next bomb.

I totally enjoyed the story, certainly a fun re-imagining of the story of Pygmalion. Don’t miss this!

Read my entire review.

Buy from Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository.

 

Genre: New Adult

MAKE IT COUNT is one of those books that resonates with you and stays with you long after you have finished reading it. A true keeper, and a book I’m certain to reread time and again.

I find it hard to believe MAKE IT COUNT is Megan Erickson’s debut book. I have to commend this talented author on the great plotting, unforgettable characters, her courage in tackling important issues, and superb storytelling wrapped up in humor and wit. I like that she takes the time to let the story unfold, and to show rather than tell, creating in the reader an indelible picture of Kat and Alec and the journey they went through to be a couple, both individually and together.

Best of all, MAKE IT COUNT has heart. It’s there in the issues the author tackled with tact and sensitivity. Her characters are also not cardboard characters, but persons with depth and substance, much like the book is.

Read my entire review.

Buy from Amazon, Kindle, Barnes and Noble, Book Depository, Powell’s.

 

Leave a Reply

