Why do I love writing for Blaze? by Vicki Lewis Thompson @VickiLThompson @HarlequinBooks #BlazeBlitz #HarlequinBlaze

Thompson cover 2 - THUNDERSTRUCKTwo words – hot guys.  No wait, three words – hot accessible guys!  Billionaires are a great fantasy, but I’m not likely to bump into one at the corner Quickie Mart.  Because I live in Arizona, I’m more likely to bump into a cowboy who’ll say Excuse me, ma’am and touch the brim of his Stetson as he gives me a smile.  Yum.

Sure, my Blaze cowboys are a figment of my imagination, but I have role models everywhere I look.  I knew I wasn’t cut out to write about billionaires when a wealthy guy in one of my books pushed back his sleeve to glance at his Rolodex.  Fortunately I caught that screw-up before an editor saw it, but the message from my muse was clear – Dear Vicki, Jet-setters are not your jam.  Write about everyday heroes, aka the yummy cowboy you bumped into at the Quickie Mart.Thompson cover 1 - MIDNIGHT THUNDER

The man-candy aspect of writing about everyday heroes like firefighters, cops, soldiers and cowboys is considerable, but there’s another element that draws me, one that punches up the emotional impact of each story.  They have buddies.   I’ve loved writing about the strong ties among my Sons of Chance cowboys and I’ve continued that trend with Thunder Mountain Brotherhood, a new series beginning in May.  Once foster boys at Thunder Mountain Ranch, these guys are joining forces to save their foster parents’ home.  I’m so excited for everyone to meet them!

And now you know why Blaze is my home base and has been ever since the line began.   What extraordinary everyday heroes do you have in your life?

Want to write for Harlequin Blaze? Check out the post here.

 

About the Author:

vltpublicityA romance writing career has brought Vicki Lewis Thompson many wonderful things –New York Times bestseller status, an appearance on LIVE with Regis and Kelly, the Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award from Romance Writers of America, thousands of readers, many dear friends, and the cutest little yellow convertible in the world. Her career has also given her work she loves.

Although she’s written more than 100 books, she continues to be fascinated by the many ways that a man and woman fall in love. The age-old story remains a challenging puzzle to be solved anew with each book. That makes her a very lucky person, indeed.

2 thoughts on “Why do I love writing for Blaze? by Vicki Lewis Thompson @VickiLThompson @HarlequinBooks #BlazeBlitz #HarlequinBlaze

  1. Elle Marlow says:

    As a fellow Arizona western romance writer, (wow, that was a mouthful) I can attest all too well the fun of bumping into a hot cowboy at the corner store. Can’t wait to pick up one of your books! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

