New Release and Interview : The Gun Runner by Scott Hildreth

The Romance ReviewBuy Link

Tripp

Once, I took down terrorists on the front lines as a marine.
Now I’m in the business of bad.
I’ve sold guns to people others might not approve of.
I’ve eliminated the criminals, the lowlifes and the thugs who’ve tread on my turf.
And I looked the Sicilian Mafia boss in the eye and told him to f*** off.
No one tells me no, unless it’s their last word.
I didn’t just act the part of bad—I lived it. Then she stumbled into my life.
I tried to stay away from her. Tried focusing on moving my merchandise. But one smile from Terra was like a shot to the heart.
She’s mine now. And no one threatens what’s mine.

Terra

I’ve seen a lot of terrible things in my life.
I grew up around lies and deception, and I ran away from all of them.
Until I met him.
I knew he was corrupt. I knew he was dangerous.
I should have stayed away, but my attraction to him, my need for him, overrode my logic.
Now I love him.
If he finds out who I am, we’re done and I’ll be nothing.
I never wanted to be the Mafia princess they tried to make me, but mia familia had other plans. And what mia familia wants…it gets.
Only Michael Tripp can save me.

Review

“Regardless, I am still obsessed with THE GUN RUNNER, and even though it was most definitely a cliffhanger ending, I didn’t mind because I loved it SO MUCH. This is an awesome read, and one I wholeheartedly recommend to anyone who loves a little bad guy in their bad boy… Bottom Line: Pick this one up today, then prepare to throw a mental hissyfit when Mr. Hildreth leaves you hanging at the end. Excellent book!” ~ Delta

Read the entire review here.

Interview

Thanks for spending this time with us, Scott. I reviewed and enjoyed this book tremendously. What’s the secret of making a guy like Michael Tripp, who skates the lines of good/bad, into someone your readers can root for?

There’s a little bad in the best of people, and a little good in the worst. I believe my readership leans in the direction of what is good. Giving them a hero who walks a razor’s edge in his day-to-day activities, yet seems to always do what he at least believes is right regarding matters of morality makes accepting someone like Michael Tripp easy.

A bad boy with a good heart.

Usually you hear about the mafia in places like Chicago or New York, not Kansas City. What made you decide on that location for the setting of this story?

Michael Tripp chose Kansas City as a place to expand his ‘gun running’ due to the gun laws in the state of Kansas being in his favor. As fate would have it, Kansas City has a mob presence. Chicago, New York, and Philadelphia all have a larger mob presence, but wouldn’t be a city Michael Tripp could ‘work’ in without fear of repercussion.

Terra was a character who, for me, was frustrating due to her continued dishonesty and plethora of opportunities to come clean. In fact, she has very few redeeming qualities other than that she gives great road head. But yet, she’s somehow likable. What was your inspiration behind Terra, and why do I find myself liking her regardless of her dumbassery?

Terra, despite her background, is real. She may not have taken advantage of each opportunity we, as readers, saw for her to come clean, but I believe she remained silent in an effort to preserve what little she holds close to her heart – Michael and her family.

Accepting her dumbassery is easy, because casting her ridiculous decision to keep quiet aside, she was a great woman with a splendid personality. She, in many respects, is very relatable.

And who, of all of us, has always told the complete truth at the beginning of a relationship?

Your characters just jumped off the pages, Cap in particular due to his interesting yet realistic dialogue. Any plans for him to get his own story?

The story of Michael and Terra will require three books. In the end, I guarantee complete satisfaction.

If the readers want to see more of Cap, I will produce his story, probably starting back from the beginning (prior to him meeting you-know-who).

Cap is as real as it gets, and pulls no punches. It sure makes him an easy man to like.

What sort of research did you do into gun running and the mafia for this book?

A hundred hours or so of research into the mafia, and a lifetime of research into gun running. *wink*

What’s up next for you?

I can’t divulge much, but I can say a series (of stand-alones) is in the works with over-the-top alphas who are protective of their respective others, and out for vengeance against those who cross over the line of what they perceive to be acceptable.

Thanks a lot, Scott! Can’t wait for the next books in the series.

About the Author

Born In San Diego California, Scott now calls Naples, Florida home. Residing in Florida with his wife, Jessica, and his children, he somehow finds twelve hours a day to work on his writing.

Addicted to riding his Harley-Davidson, tattoos, and drinking coffee, Scott can generally be found in a tattoo shop, on his Harley, or in a local coffee house when not writing.

Catch him at: http://www.scotthildreth.com/

Leave a Reply

