New Release and Exclusive Excerpt: Flight from Mayhem by Yasmine Galenorn

Amazon

New York Times bestselling author Yasmine Galenorn presents the second Fly by Night novel, set in the realm of the Otherworld.
 
I’m Shimmer, a blue dragon shifter. Thanks to a mistake, I was exiled from the Dragon Reaches and sentenced to work for gorgeous, exasperating Alex Radcliffe, a vampire who owns the Fly by Night Magical Investigations Agency. Every time I turn around, somebody’s trying to kill us. But you know what they say: All’s fair in love and bounty hunting…

A serial killer is stalking the elderly Fae of Seattle, draining their bank accounts before brutally murdering them. When Chase Johnson asks for our help, Alex and I discover that the sociopath is also a shifter—able to change shape to match his victim’s deepest desires. Our friend and colleague Bette volunteers to act as bait, but the plan goes dangerously awry. Now, unless we find her first, she’s about to face her worst nightmare.

 

Exclusive Excerpt

“And I suppose like a good little dragon you said yes. That’s all well and good, but he’s going to get bored. I know Alex, and he needs more excitement in this life than you can provide. I wanted to give you the chance to withdraw gracefully, but I see that you’re not interested in listening to reason.”

I wondered if she really believed what she was saying. There had to be a part of her that knew Alex was done with her. “Are you serious? Do you really believe what you’re saying? I don’t understand you, Glenda. You weren’t happy with him. He was miserable, so why do you want him back?”

“Who gives a damn about whether we were happy? Happiness is an illusion. The only thing that matters is that Alex is mine and you’re trespassing on private property.” Her voice was so bitter that I knew there had to be something else behind this.

“Why are you so pissed off at me? I didn’t steal him from you.” I shifted, wanting the conversation to be over with as soon as possible.

“What you did was worse. You encouraged him to leave me. And so did Bette, that old bitch. You’re both going to be sorry.” And with that, she reached into her purse and pulled out something wrapped in her hand. With a quick flick of the wrist, she sent it flying. A rock. Damn. And then, before I could make a move, the rock smashed through the central glass in my aquarium. I let out a scream as hundreds of gallons of water began to pour into my living room along with all my fish, including Coolray, my pet jellyfish. Glenda laughed as the rush of water rapidly began to saturate my floors, carpeting, and furniture. Then, before I could attack her, she vanished.

At that moment Tonya appeared on the stairs, her eyes wide. “What the hell is going on?” And then she saw what was happening and stopped in her tracks.

Chai had already sprung into action, grabbing a pan as he tried valiantly to save some of my fish. With relief, I saw him scoop up Coolray, but there were so many other fish swimming around my living room that I knew we wouldn’t be able to catch them all before they died.

Anger ricocheted through me, breaking my paralysis. I headed to the kitchen in search of another pan. And then there was a zap as a jolt ran through me. The water had managed to short out some of the electronics in the room, splashing against the outlets that were placed lower on the wall. The jolt didn’t hurt me, and it certainly wouldn’t affect Chai, but I yelled for Tonya to stay where she was. I crawled on the sofa to get away from the ankle- deep water that was now spreading into the kitchen.

“Motherfucking son of a bitch,” I shouted as fish began to float to the surface. The electrical shorts had apparently been enough to kill some of them. “I am going to kill that bitch of a succubus, if it’s the last thing I do.”

At that moment, my cell phone rang and I pulled it out of my pocket. It was Ralph. As I jabbed the Talk button, Chai let out another shout and I glanced over in his direction. He had managed to reach the stairs, where my octopus was trying to pull itself out of the water. Grateful that Wriggly had survived, I brought the phone to my ear.

“Ralph, I’m going to have to talk to you later. We have something of an emergency going on here.”

 

Author Bio

Hi, I’m New York Times, USA TODAY, and Publisher’s Weekly bestselling author Yasmine Galenorn.  In April 2012, I won a Career Achievement Award in Urban Fantasy at the Romantic Times Convention.

I have almost 50 books on the shelves, and I write urban fantasy and paranormal romance, including the Fury Unbound Series, the Otherworld Series, the Fly By Night Series,Whisper Hollow. I also wrote the Indigo Court Series, the Chintz ‘n China Series, the Bath & Body Series (under the name of India Ink), a number of metaphysical nonfiction books. I wrote for traditional publishers up until 2016, and now I have moved into being an indie author to give myself more freedom.

Prior to publishing, Lisa owned multi-state staffing agency that was recognized many times by The Austin Business Journal and also praised by Dallas Women Magazine. In 1998 LRJ was listed as the #7 growing women owned business in Entrepreneur Magazine.

Leave a Reply

