Royalty Fever

Contributed by Ashia, Romancing the Books and More

Royalty fever is in the air, egged on by cute pictures of Prince George and Princess Charlotte,  Prince William and Kate Middleton’s new pregnancy, and of course the fairy tale romance between Prince Harry and Meghan Markle. (I was like, wow, when I first heard. I mean, Prince Harry and Meghan Markle, Rachel Zane from Suits?)

Well, if you’re a Harlequin books junkie, you’d know there have always been royalty stories in contemporary settings for the romance-consuming public since way back. But though I devoured these in ages past, I can’t seem to remember a single one now (I don’t have a lot of storage space in my brain, so sadly, unimportant info have to be thrown out [Remember the movie Inside Out?])…

Aha! I can remember one: The heroine is a commoner working as a waitress when it turns out she’s the princess of this small European country, who was smuggled out when she was baby for her protection. But now they’ve found her, the rightful princess (queen?), and she has to help her poor (literally) country find a way to earn money, and guess what? She found out that her country has a natural resource and she tapped on that to produce flavored mineral water (if I remember right) that they can then sell to other countries! Finances solved! As for the romance, yes, there’s a romance, but I don’t remember with whom. Alas, I can’t even remember the title.

Anyway, enough trips down memory lane, which I seem to be doing lately. I’m just so happy we’ve got new Royalty books to devour and obsess over. Royalty Fever books that are on my radar are:

Bad Princess by Julianna Keyes (Amazon)

What I love about this is the angst. Married to her sister’s ex, the man she’s loved like forever? Lots of conflict and angst there! Yes, squeeze my heart out until I bleed. Can’t wait to get into this. I love storylines like this.

* * *

Notorious for leaping off roofs, maiming foreign royals, and thattwerking incident, Brinley Cantrella of Estau is nobody’s definition of a good princess. She’s fearless and bold, not good and gracious. And after a lifetime of being told she’s unfit to be queen, wearing the crown and helping to usher Estau into a new era is the one dream she’s never dared chase.

But when her older sister abdicates the throne, all Brinley has to do to inherit the role is not twerk, not maim anybody, and definitely not get caught fooling around topless with Prince Finn, her childhood crush, the only man she’s ever loved…and her sister’s former future husband.

Finn embodies the definition of good. Tall and handsome, serious and honorable, he always does the right thing—including agreeing to marry his ex’s sister to cover up this latest scandal. Brinley has fallen down stairs, broken teeth and broken bones, but this is the first time her heart has ever been broken. She now has the crown and the prince, and on the surface, life is good—but is being married to a man everyone swears could never love her back good enough?


Royally Wed by Teri Wilson (Amazon)

Yes, again. A bit different, but I can already imagine the angst, the bittersweet feelings. And the suspense! What’s the groom’s secret? Could it be…?

* * *

When Asher Reed, an American classical musician, is hired as a last minute replacement to perform at the royal wedding of Princess Amelia in Great Britain, he’s hoping he can shake his recent bout with performance anxiety long enough to get through the festivities and get his career back on track. Little does he know that his life is about to change forever.

As a guest of Buckingham Palace, he knows he has no business even speaking to the princess, but he’s completely awed by her beauty and more than a little intrigued by her rebellious spirit. Still, he definitely knows he has no business kissing her silly at the fitting of her wedding gown. He’s there to perform, not cause a royal scandal. But when he stumbles upon her groom’s appalling secret, the fate of the princess and the British Crown suddenly rest squarely in his cello-playing hands….

With Teri Wilson’s signature “endearingly charming and delightfully sizzling” (USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci) prose, Royally Wed is a delightful whirlwind romance that will leave you breathless and have you out of your seat for a standing ovation.


Icing on the Cake by Ann Marie Walker (Amazon)

I loved the first book in the series, Black Tie Optional (Amazon). It was fun and laugh-out-loud funny, but it also has the most amazing “moment” between the main characters. Read my review here. I love it so much I had been looking out for the second novel, and imagine my delight when I find out the hero is also a prince!

* * *

Cassandra Miller doesn’t have time for men. She’s far too busy trying to open a cupcake shop with her silent partner and best friend, not to mention catering her brother’s wedding. And let’s face it, it’s not like Prince Charming is going to stroll into the bakery and sweep her off her feet.

Henry has been a prince his entire life but for one wild wedding he wants to be nothing more than an “Average Joe”, or in this instance, “Average Hank”. However, when a case of mistaken identity and a batch of burned cupcakes ends in a night of passion, Cassie and Hank must decide if theirs is a recipe for disaster or the makings of true romance.


Reluctantly Royal by Gillian Archer (Amazon)

Secret? What secret? (There went my confounded curiosity again.) Princes and secrets sound like a good combination to me!

* * *

A bad-boy prince is tamed by a vivacious American beauty in this charming love story.

Officially, the world knows me as His Royal Highness Prince Lucien of Monaco, but you can call me Luc. A long time ago, I vowed never to let my heritage stand in the way of a good time. Now the party’s over.

With the death of my father and my twin brother, I’ve lost a part of my soul—and my freedom. My heartless older brother tells me that not only do I have to settle down, I need to marry a girl with the right bloodlines. AKA, a princess. Yeah, I’ll get right on that . . . after one last trip to Vegas.

That’s where I meet Hannah. Not only is she gorgeous and down-to-earth, she reminds me what it’s like to live completely in the moment. Plus she has no idea who I really am. Hanging out with the locals, I feel like I can just be myself again. Besides, our chemistry is undeniable—especially after we take things to the next level.

What happens in Vegas is special, and I don’t want it to stay there. But I’ve been keeping a secret that will tear us apart. The last thing I expect, though? Hannah’s been keeping a secret of her own . . . one that might just bring us together.

One thought on “Royalty Fever

Leave a Reply

